Thread: Nicolai NewB

Im O'l Greggggg

Nicolai NewB

Hey guys - Im a newbie to the Nicolai scene and wanted to say hello as u all seem quite a chatty bunch with ridiculous amounts of knowledge etc...

Always fancied a Nicolai but never thought I would - but managed to grab the last Helius FR 2009 in small from Nic UK, Simon couldnt be more helpful considering its the weekend! What a bargain (and such a coincidence my mongoose gave up the goose after a recent north to south of scotland expedition too!).

Anyhow the build will mostly be parts from the goose - Halo, sunline, fsa, Shimano XT & saint, hope, Ethirteen. with a choice of fox36's or boxxer team's depending on what sort of ridings going on!

Hopefully frame will arrive this week in time for friday ft Bill - with a busy build thursday night but then that just adds to the fun! if not it will be ready for the friday after! and I'll make sure to add a piccy too!

Happy Riding...

KB

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Sounds like a nice build - would've though the 36's will work a treat on the FR, and the other kit sounds like it is all good and fit for the frame you have coming.

Fort Bill will be just the spot to give it a work out-have to see if you can't get some pics from the inaugural ride. Gave my AFR a first work out there just the other month, was a very nice spot to ride.

Im O'l Greggggg
    Cheers - im pretty certain it will all fit the bill perfectly, and I can't wait to get to Ft Bill, or even locally around Aviemore will be a great test - Like you say the area is fantastic, and beautiful too - Not to mention the run from devils staircase to the tailrace inn for a quick drink!!

Which forks are you running on your AFR out of interest?

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Am certainly not local to it, but had the good fortune to ride with Dipper off here. Was a cracking day, would love to ride a bit more stuff around there too.

Am running Totem coil w/ mission control DH damper on my AFR.

Im O'l Greggggg