Drink...sleep

Helius FR as pure FR (and DH) bike?

Hey guys, long time since I posted, but am back on my Helius FR and I'd like your advice. I'm getting more and more into gravity oriented and lift assisted riding, and I use my Totem equipped 2008 Helius FR for that. I broke the rear wheel on my last outing last week though (a DT 5.1) and since I'm using my FR solely for downhill and freeride duties, like bikeparks in Germany and the Alps, I'm debating what to do. Mind you, I'm still a relative beginner in the FR/DH scene.

Here's the two options:
    - Either I lace up a new rear wheel with a stronger rim like the Mavic 823, put that back in my Helius, and while I'm at it, go to a single ring front setup with a guide like the E13 LG1 and turn the bike as much into a FR machine as I can.

- Or, I sell the Helius now and get a new FR/DH frame, that perhaps has 150mm rear wheel spacing (since I need a new wheel anyway) and a slightly lower BB and a bit more rear suspension travel.

What would you do, do you think the Helius FR remains a compromise in the FR area, even if it's built up as a freeride bike? I know it's not a DH bike, and I like it that it feels quite playful, but also it feels a bit tall/high sometimes. Maybe all quite subjective, but I'd like to hear your thoughts

mtbr member
    Hi boozzz
    Good to see your still on the fr

If your just playing the FR will be fine and more manageable on a lot of tracks than a full on dh'er. I sold the dh bike last year as it just wasn't getting used enough and I was no faster on it than I am my afr. 180 forks and heavier wheels and the fr will be spot on.
    www.gravity-sports.co.uk

flash bikes for flash gits

mtbr member
    Sep 2008
    I sold the FR brought an ION,Then sold the ION and brought an FR

The ION is faster than an FR on a proper DH course.But for 98% of the time the FR was a better bike,You can ride 20+ miles on it.have a play on some DH and then ride it home.