mtbr member
    Oct 2004

Sell me on the benefits of NICA affiliation

Hi all, I'm seeking success stories and tangible benefits of NICA affiliation over other "grassroots" cycling opportunities for kids. I'm struggling to convince other local volunteers/voices that is "worth it."

I've watched a few informational webinars about bid process etc and exchanged emails with NICA employees. I've personally visited NICA races in CO and AR.

Backstory: In addition to my own racing, I've been USAC race director for 15+ years, and promote 5-8 events each year as our state series. Our area has a grassroots youth devo program in the summer, with which I am a volunteer coach (I'm an imba l2 instructor). Couple years ago, we started hosting USAC 5 mtb races in the fall specifically/only for high school (and now middle school) kids. Some teachers (who are also riders) formed teams at their school, organize group rides as practices, and encourage kids to show up and race the 5 USAC high school races. No one is paid-- its low budget, volunteer driven, each race costs $10 if you sign up en masse with a team, or $20 if you sign up as a lone wolf-- ie, its very affordable and designed to "break even." NEarly all 60+ kids involved buy a $35 junior USAC license.

Volunteer teachers/coaches track and aggregate points and recognize top achieving teams at the end of fall season.

So for $35 license, and $50, a kid gets 5 insured races held under USAC permit. Thanks to some donations, medals are given out at each race and trophies at end of year. Coaching time is entirely donated, and coaches are either teachers already or submit to affordable background check, also funded by local sponsor.

Aspirationally, we want to join NICA, but don't want to take a "step back" from what we've built, nor do we want to raise & spend a bunch of money to essentially do what we are already doing (?).