Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

New NICA Coach Looking for Advice

9K views 23 replies 12 participants last post by  suvlako 
#1 ·
Good Morning All,

I recently signed up to be one of the coaches for my old high school's NICA team, and was wondering if any of you (racers or coaches) have tips/advice on what I can do to be a good coach and better connect with the athletes. I'm by no means an expert rider but am experienced and competent, and was encouraged to become a coach by the head coach as I am younger (23 yo) than the rest of the coaches and he thought this would help me connect with the kids better. So anyone have any advice? Thanks in advance for any help.

#4 ·
#16 ·
I just signed my son up to ride with the local composite, and I'm going to help out. I'm going to be a "Level 1 Coach," which I'm guessing means not a whole lot of input. I would like to be able to teach the students something should the occasion arise though. Who has read the book? Does it do a good job of explaining things? I've been riding for 20+ years, but I would still classify myself as an intermediate rider, with no formal instruction. Everything I've learned is self taught.

#5 ·
Those webinars are perfect, thanks! Most of the riders are pretty beginner, so my goal is to:
1) teach them solid fundamentals: correct braking, cornering, attack position, etc.
2) instill a love of mountain biking in them, so those that graduate stick with it, and those that are younger come back next year
3) help them have fun!

I'm planning on letting the older coaches who have more experience with racing teach them the more technical aspects, like starts, etc. I will most likely spend the majority of my time with the more beginner riders, focusing on fundamentals.

#10 ·
Those webinars are perfect, thanks! Most of the riders are pretty beginner, so my goal is to:
1) teach them solid fundamentals: correct braking, cornering, attack position, etc.