mtbr member
    Feb 2013

Fundraising requirment?

So I am a coach out here in Utah and we are getting ready to recruit for our second season. Last year was awesome and we can't wait for round 2!
    But funding was a big problem last year for lots of teams. There just wasn't a lot of businesses will extra cash on hand willing to help out a team like ours. And even when there were, it was really hard for the coaches to make the time to go see them. So one of my assistants came up with the idea that we get help from the kids. His original idea was that we would require the kids to do some fun raising to even be on the team. My worry is that could be a little prohibitive for some kids/families.
    So we discussed options and came up with this:
    We will have two squads; a development squad and an elite race squad. The development squad will be composed of riders who just want to come to practice and develop skills. We will have no fundraising requirement for these kids outside of a team due amount that will help cover travel costs.
    The elite team will be our race team. They will be required to provide some amount of funding to be on the team. The amount of funding they are able to provide will be met with a set amount of items we will include; like the kit, new gloves, hat, bottle, etc...the higher the amount the raise, the more our shop sponsor will chip in. If they raise enough, we will also pay for all their races.
    This is the basic formula we have come up with. Does anyone have some input for our idea?

mtbr member
    Hey Crisco -
    I coach a NorCal team. We don't push the fund raising on the kids, but I know some of the other teams have this component. Want the kids to focus on school work and riding, and some have other activities they pursue to their spare time for fund raising can be limited.