No longer a hardtailkid.

Colleges in MTBing areas?

I am a sophomore in one of the top 5o high schools in the country. I am obviously planning on going to college. I really want to permanently where I go to college, and I want to make a good choice. I don't want to go to a college where the LBS is a bike shop full of cruisers, trikes, and road bikes. For me, MTBing is a passion that I think will last forever. I have only been "into it" for about 14 months, but I have so much fun riding, I don't think I will ever get it up.

Being a student at West Shore Jr./Sr. High School, expectations are very high. I have to maintain a higher than average GPA and to graduate, I need 4.0 more credits than any other school in my area requires. Since I will be graduating with a Diploma of Distinction, I will be able to get into a pretty good college.

Now, to the point of this post. What areas have alot of great bike shops, with a wide range of MTBs? I want to be somewhere with year round riding (or atleast 8 months per year). I prefer to stay on the east coast, but I don't know how many big bike shops there may be in one popular area.

With colleges that have MTB teams, will those areas have a lot of trails and bike shops?

Thanks,
    Andy
    Quote Originally Posted by anthonys
    Its still just the push of a button away...
    I am no longer a hardtailkid. 2012 Trek Remedy 9!

mtbr member
    I'm not familiar with the trails in the whole country but live in nyc and I'm only about 1/2 hour from good trails so I'd think you could mtb where ever you chose. If you wanna mtb year round I'd think that climate has more to do with it. Some of my all time favorite trails so far have been in Arizona, Hawaii, Utah, Vermont. Pick a school first then do some research on surrounding areas. Each state has a forum on this site.
    Good Luck!
    "Tortured by mental illness" ~monogod

Thread Terrorist
    Gunnison, CO.

www.western.edu