Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Stewart Forest

mtbr member

Stewart Forest

We went riding there this afternoon and this place is the best, at least for us!

We need easy single track and this place is the best we have found so far except for a Park or two in Chesapeake VA. Today I spotted 3 big black snakes and I think they is what they are officially called. I happened to run one over while on a fire road. The wife was along side of me and happened to see the snake and she said it was in hot pursuit of a frog that was scrambling to escape. I may have saved a frogs life. All in a days fun!

mtbr member
    Sep 2012
    Black Rat snake my friend. They are all over the place up here, I see at least 1 or two per hike/ride.

Glad to hear you liked Stewart. I just started riding again and I am going there next weekend. Which entrance did you use and what trails/loops did you use? I did some real technical stuff today in Harriman, NY, but like you I'd like to start with something a little easier on me.

mtbr member
    I park at the Weed road parking area and I put in for a vacation day on Thursday hoping to take some time to ride at Stewart but I know rain is on the way.

Will wait and see how the weather goes.

mtbr member
    Weed road? I like this place already!

All Play
    Sep 2012
    Where is this exactly?

Ride da mOOn Moderator

Idea!

Yes ride it, I have ridden/raced there many times...

...and it's a 2 hours drive for me, but the Stew is well worth it. I even hit up the bike tour this past summer just to be supportive and another chance to ride and show a noob around the Stew!

It's a big place and you can get lost so prepare well...

Lots of stuff here on MTBR do a search for "Stewart state forest" Maps and info come up...

Here's one!
    Home - Stewart State Forest Bike Tour, for mountain bikers, presented by SPARC!

Here's the directions map:
    Ride Info - Stewart State Forest Bike Tour, for mountain bikers, presented by SPARC!

pics and such: