mtbr member
    Apr 2012

Learning to trail ride, where to go Capital District?

I am a newbie on the trails, rode bikes as a kid just around the neighborhood and been road riding somewhat seriously for about 3 years. Starting to branch into Mountain Biking and picked up a Trek 4900 over the winter.

So far I have taken
    1 ride in Thatcher Park, very hilly.
    1 ride in Luther Forest, some trails I could handle, some were a little tough, ended up in the dirt twice and almost in the dirt plenty more.

I had a blast both times and plan to come back for more, wondering where else I can go to get my skillset up this spring and early summer. Should I just head back to Luther Forest all the time? Is there a trail map for it anywhere? Any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance!

mtbr member
    Jun 2004
    I'd try the Pine Bush, great place to start out. The trails could be described as similar to Luther, but a little less technical - sandy, fun, not too many hills. Just do a tick check 2-3X a ride.
    ELEVATE CYCLES | FTW FACTORY RACING | ODI | NEMA | 661| AZONIC | SPY

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    Tick check for sure. I was out tuesday for about an hour. Got back to my car and noticed a few on my shoes.

mtbr member
    Nov 2005
    Schenectady Central Park has trails. I'm not sure where to park, but I imagine others will chime in for it.

There are also trails near the Colonie Town Park, on the opposite side of the Bike path that are pretty decent. Maybe slightly more technical than Luther Forest.
    Park here, 42.795054,-73.744504 - Google Maps
    Head north on the bike path and look for trails off to the right.

You can also check out here for more trails in the area.
    CapitalMTB - Home

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    I have heard that about the Pine Bush, it makes me a little reserved about going there. I will have to check out Schenectady Central Park, that's not to far from where I work so it could be a nice after work ride.