mtbr member

How wet is too wet in cold upstate NY?

I moved here in 2011, after spending the last 30 years of my life in much warmer climates. This is the first year I'm riding in weather this cold, and I am looking for some guidance on how wet is too wet this time of year. I live north of Albany and was going to go riding with a friend at the Stables in Saratoga or Luther Trails in Malta tomorrow.

It's a basically a 30% chance of rain ("light showers") between now and 11PM in this area, and freezing temperatures from 5AM to 9AM. We were going to go riding at 10AM, but I am concerned about how wet the trails may be.

I'm new to long winters, freezing temperatures and the potential for ice. How does cold weather, like I described above, impact trails and how soon they're safe to ride?

mtbr member
    Winter riding is a definite learning experience, but as of right now I don't think that you really have to worry that much about that, in re: frozen trails. If the temperatures haven't been consistently cold up there, meaning below freezing for days with no temps above 40, then the trails should just be wet. When that happens the ground can freeze then the top can can melt during the day making a layer of mud on top of icy conditions which can catch you off guard. You do have to be on the lookout for shady frozen spots but at this point again I doubt it.

Saratoga MBA, SMBA , has a ride scheduled this weekend so one would assume the trails are dry and in good enough condition to not do damage to the ecosystem.

So slap on some 2.4's and ride.

Granted I don't live there anymore, but I did for 22 years.

mtbr member
    Nov 2005
    Luther Forest will be fine. Those trails don't really retain water and are usually dry shortly after rain fall, if they get wet at all.