mtbr member
    May 2011

Beginner friendly trail in Albany area

I'm looking for a beginner friendly trail to take my wife on. I have some trail experience but none whatsoever on any NY trails. We live about 10 minutes north of downtown Albany.

mtbr member
    Apr 2009

mtbr member
    Nov 2005

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    Check out the Pine Bush area near Colonie or further north is Luther Forest in Malta.

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    Another option is colonie town park / colonie shale trail, if you do ride this, ride past the first 2 entrances to the third one then climb up that. Pine bush is the easiest singletrack in the area.

There is also
    -- Pitsfield Forest
    -- Saratoga mtb course "The stables"
    -- Lock 7
    -- Luther Forest
    -- Schenecty town park

None of these trails are well traveled besides saratoga and pine bush so exect to spend some time getting used to them.

good website for you
    CapitalMTB - Home

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by shoal View Post
    Another option is colonie town park / colonie shale trail, if you do ride this, ride past the first 2 entrances to the third one then climb up that. Pine bush is the easiest singletrack in the area.

There is also
    -- Pitsfield Forest
    -- Saratoga mtb course "The stables"
    -- Lock 7
    -- Luther Forest
    -- Schenecty town park

None of these trails are well traveled besides saratoga and pine bush so exect to spend some time getting used to them.

good website for you
    CapitalMTB - Home
    I would not classify smba or Pittstown (assuming you meant this and not Pittsfield in MA or VT) as beginner friendly for someones wife.

Not to come off as a d!ck but I'm not sure what you mean by none of those trails are well traveled? I would classify almost all of those trails as pretty well traveled, not overflowing with bikers/hikers like living in Boulder, CO but very well traveled for the area. Maybe I misinterpreted what you meant?