Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    sje
    mtbr member
    Jan 2013

Anyone ride Bethpage State Park on LI?

I'm sure at least a few of you guys ride BSP... I'm going to try and ride there a little bit as it's in close proximity to my house, but as far as trail riding goes, I'm a total beginner... Can anyone point me in the right direction in terms of what part of the trail is best for beginners to start with?

mtbr member
    Aug 2004
    Welcome.
    Try VisionMTB.com and Listen to Applehead. He is a good man and knows his stuff

The Brick yard is fun. Heading north is fun.

Basically go out and explore. Anything you can not ride......walk. Dont be ashamed because we have all been there............No go git some!!!

mtbr member
    Going to start back up as soon as I get my bike back. As far as BSP there are many trails that are not marked so go and explore. And yes as Sparty said the Brickyard is fun. The other possibility is go past the picnic area to the open field and follow the wood chips to the white blazes this is the greenbelt, keep following the blazes north and you will eventually hit stillwell preserve. If you want I will be riding there on Mondays for an hour ride 30min in 30 min back to car on the gb. Remember these are 2 way trails so enter turns with caution either yell or whistle to let others know you are coming. And also listen to Sparty and head over to visionmtb.com.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by sje View Post
    I'm sure at least a few of you guys ride BSP... I'm going to try and ride there a little bit as it's in close proximity to my house, but as far as trail riding goes, I'm a total beginner... Can anyone point me in the right direction in terms of what part of the trail is best for beginners to start with?
    Contact me when you are available to ride. I'm local.

mtbr member
    Feb 2004
    CLIMB has a beginner's ride at Bethpage on the first Saturday of the month. There are other monthly rides located on our forum: