mtbr member

SS gearing for the ABQ foothills area

I'm new to the area and riding a 29er singlespeed. What kind of gearing are people using on the foothills of Albuquerque mountain bike trails?

mtbr member
    Nov 2010
    For the foothills I was running 32x18 when I had my Monocog, but I am a wuss. When I started riding Otero and many other places on the SS I went back to the 32x20 and even then I was still doing the walk of shame a bunch.

It all depends on your fitness/strength level. I think I see a lot of 34x18. The main north foothills loop has less than 1000 feet of climbing in 9 miles or so. You can rack up 2000+ feet of climbing in south foothills if you want.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    I still have not rode my SS in the foothills but Otero i am running 32x21. Seems that every other (about 10 or so) SS riders I talked to were all running 32x20. I could easily see 18-19t cog for even my fitness level in most of the foothill area.

mtbr member
    i'd say leave it they way you have it and if your spinning out or walking change it accordingly.

i run 32 18.. for north and otero

do what you think is right, look to your heart

whats your set up right now?

mtbr member
    Pardon my ignorance - still learning the area. But where is Otero? Is it a destination to access trails, or do you just live there?

mtbr member
    Right now I'm at 33x20. But I'll soon be upgrading my crankset to one that has a 32 so I'm thinking 32x19 for starters.

Genius
    32x18 when I'm sane.... 32x16 when I'm insane.
    "I think im gonna go to walmart and look at the mountain bikes and see if i can salvage the rear frame."- Nick_Knipp 3/21/12

Single Speed Junkie
    Quote Originally Posted by sprocket47 View Post
    Pardon my ignorance - still learning the area. But where is Otero? Is it a destination to access trails, or do you just live there?