Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Oct 2011

Riding tubeless in Albuquerque

So I've been riding for a while now but I'm a total newb when it comes to riding tubeless. Everything seems to be set up just right but when I ride I loose pressure. I start at 30lbs every ride. When I'm done I'm down around 20lbs or less. I understand that an occasional burp is normal but this seems excessive. I'm posting this in the New Mexico forum because we live in the land of goatheads. My theory as to why I am loosing so much air is because of these little gems. I've noticed after every ride I don't have and goatheads in the tire but after closer inspection they just break the thorns off in the tire. I haven't taken the thorns out yet and think this is my problem. Should I be using tweezers to pull the thorns out and let the Stan's do the work? With them in there it makes me think that they're just re-opening the "wound" with every ride. Am I headed in the right direction? Do I just need to refresh my sealant for the summer season? (I think it's about 6 months old) Thanks to everyone in advance.

I <3 NM
    Who set your tubeless up?
    "Someone must have put alcohol in my beer last night." ~ Mr. Richard Baty, Esq.

Single Speed Junkie
    When I first moved here I thought tubeless was a scam. First 4 rides I had 8 flats so I decided to give it a shot. Now all of the bikes I have are running tubeless with out any issues. Only time the tires loose air is when the Stans gets old. Do not want to know how many goatheads or thorns are in my tires currently but do know it is several. If the sealant is 6 months old I'd add another batch in the tire and go for a ride. No need to peel off the old dried sealant as it is still plugging existing holes.

mtbr member
    Oct 2011
    I did. It's all Bontrager stuff. Tires, wheels and strips. I used stan's in them. When I first did it all they worked great. The problem has started in just the last few weeks of riding.

mtbr member