Canuck on this Rock

Moving to Santa Fe

Not sure if this is the correct form to post this in, but probably get the fastest response. I am moving to Santa Fe for a job starting March 1st. Never been there, and reading all the fluff apartment/condo places have in their ads, I am totally confused on what neighborhoods to avoid, and which neighborhoods have more of a vibrant scene (like restaurants, theatre, etc.)

I thank you all in advance!!

mtbr member
    Well, what's your budget? I myself am a person that likes to be near town, especially when I am new to a place. South Capital neighborhood is a good mix of walkable distance to the Plaza and relatively cheap/safe neighborhood. Anything in the East mountains will be considerably nice, but also smaller, and usually weird. Further towards the middle near near Osage is quite nice and family orientated, same with stuff further south. I'd avoid the Airport area just based on the fact you nearly have to drive everywhere--and live amongst the strip malls.

What type of riding do you do? Radioactive and I live across from Mellow here in town and usually hit up the trails from the house come warmer times.

Canuck on this Rock
    Thanks for your reply. Yeah, my budget is about 950/mo. I will be working at BTI as the Cinelli Brand Manager starting in March.

I ride mostly XC, and of course I ride road as well. When I lived on the mainland before, I did some DH...

I want the experience for my wife to be positive when she comes in the next few months, since we are moving from Hawaii and she and I like restaurants and nightlife as in theatre types of things I want her to feel right at home. Does that make sense?

I <3 NM

Moving to Santa Fe

You can also do like a lot of folks, live in Rio Rancho & commute to SFe. A lot more to do closer to ABQ.
    "Someone must have put alcohol in my beer last night." ~ Mr. Richard Baty, Esq.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by spicoli-ss View Post