Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Thinking of going to Diablo

1K views 7 replies 6 participants last post by  theferralkid 
#1 ·
Anyone have experience there? The only lift-served downhill I've done was at Keystone in Colorado. That was fairly intense.

The thing that concerns me about Diablo is it's mostly black diamonds. At Keystone, even the blues were pretty damn challenging. The blacks were way above my level.

How difficult is Diablo in general?

The other mountain I'm considering as an alternative is Hunter.

#3 ·
I went there about a month ago. It was fun considering I am a beginner mountain biker and was riding an XC bike with little travel. The funny thing about this place is the blue trail was the hardest thing I have ever done, anywhere. The double black which is considered a jump trail was the most fun as was the twisty trail down the middle which the lift travels over. If you ask the locals about it and tell them your ability level they will help you out. Everyone there was very helpful and nice there so I am sure you will have fun.

#4 ·
Don't Let The Diamonds Scare You!

Diablo is a great place to go and spend the day riding down the mountain. Just like PABikerchick stated the Black and Double Black Diamonds are 'easier' trails. Easier in the sense that they are NOT rock littered, slick rock and narrow bridges. The Diamond trails are very fast, steep, have jumps and some rock sections but are much smoother, wider and flow like water. They are very demanding trails and command respect because speed will overcome you in no time. If you go, you'll find out what I'm talking about. Go if you can. Check out their website for more info. The place is amazing and you'll have a great time!

#6 ·
Diablo