mtbr member
    Feb 2004

Once a week kinda thing

I'm a truck driver from Wisconsin, so this may seem a little different. I come to NJ and or NYC every week. Usually get in Wednesday afternoon, but I'm looking for places to ride. Mostly my routes bring me in on I80 and I287 sometimes.
    I've been looking at trail reviews and would love to go to a lot of them, but the problem is I've got a 75ft/80,000lb monster I've got to park. State and county parks don't like me.
    I ride mostly XC on a Klein Attitude, but have the skill to ride almost anything you can throw at me. I've raced XC, DH, 4X and trials in the last 20 years and also at one time owned a bike shop. Definitely a bike junkie.
    So here's what I'm looking for... any help finding places withing a few miles I can ride to trails that I can park the semi at. Anyone that might want to ride, possibly pick me up and we can go riding somewhere. (bonus is, I still have my wholesale accounts, so the rider that would be interested in this could get stuff pretty cheap)
    Any thoughts or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Nate

mtbr member
    Sep 2005
    Exit 57 (Skyline Dr) off of i287 in NJ you have Ramapo and Ringwood State parks. Plenty of good riding, you'll probably need a map which are available here North Jersey Trails Map | New York-New Jersey Trail Conference and NYNJ Trail Conference Map - North Jersey Trails - NJ, 67825 | Maps | Maps & Books | GEAR | items from Campmor.

mtbr member
    I think that the rest stop on 80W at the top of the hill before the Allamuchy exit has side trails that link with the main trail system. Others may be able to chime in but there's hope!

mtbr member
    Feb 2004
    That rest stop by Allamuchy would be great, I think I see where I can hook up with the rest of the trails. That one may even be seen by me this week.
    The Ramapo and Ringwood would be nice, but is there any parking I might be able to put a semi?
    Thanks for the help!