Thread: Help a Newbie

mtbr member
    May 2012

Help a Newbie

Sorry to butt in, but I'm new to this and I can't seem to start a new thread.

My son (18 yo) and I are new to mountain biking, have been going the last few weeks (just using our bikes which are mostly made for road riding (his is a cheap mtn bike, mine a hybrid). Want to rent bikes for a few weeks to make sure he's going to stay interested before I take the plunge and buy bikes. Any idea where I can get good, not too expensive, rentals over the weekend? Thx.

Also, can you recommend go trails around here. We tried Lewis Morris and were pretty disappointed, Stewart Airport and Camp Orange in NY were good, but hoping we can get something closer to home. Thx.

Mark W

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    Renting real bikes can get pretty expensive, just so you know what you are getting in to. You may also have trouble finding places that rent mountain bikes, as they tend to get dinged up, and that would affect the shop's overhead.

Jay's Cycle Center in Westfield rents road bikes for sure, you can call and see if they also rent mtbs. I seem to remember that Kopp's in Princeton, if you are up for a drive, used to rent out bikes, but I can't find any information on their site. Good luck with trying to find a place to rent from.

I can't speak for trails in northern NJ, but there are trail reviews on this site you could check out. I know for a fact that all 'off road' trails in Essex County prohibit mountain biking.

'Tis but a scratch
    Check out Wawayanda State Park. There is a reasonable map that will get you started on the Jorba website: Wawayanda State Park | JORBA - You Dig? (page down for map). There are lots of trails not shown on the map too.

As for rentals...I can't help you there.

mtbr member
    I think REI in Paramus rents bikes.

mtbr member
    Apr 2006