mtbr member
    Jul 2008

new parts for rumble,need help choosing

currently i have a rock shok100mm on the front and V brakes on both ends.i would like to upgrade to some beefier wheels/hubs,add disk brakes and maybe a 140mm fork.
    is there any limits to the disk size for the rear?im looking for suggestions on what brakes to run.im fairly new to all disk setups.i liked the strokers on my pitch just for comparison sake.
    for wheels i was thinking about picking up a crossmax set from a friend or putting together a mavic 729 rim/king rear hub and a stout front.i want to keep it strong.
    im looking at so many forks i get confused.im sure 140mm would be enough for me so it really comes down to brand.
    any and all feedback is welcome.i just want a well rounded trail/FR/DJ bike.

Hmmmmm
    I know a 140mm fork will work. It all depends on what you want to do with the bike.
    XC equals a shorter fork. All Mountain and park, a longer fork. I don't know what the maximum is on travel.
    I'm partial to Fox. A lot of people also like Marzocchi.
    Since you want an all around type bike, you might consider something with a platform of some sort, so it will sprint well, but still suck up bigger hits.
    I also like Manitou's stable platform damping systems, but not in a super dry desert climate. Manitou's seals have been a stiction nightmare here in the desert. They don't blow and start leaking, but you have to keep wiping the seals and stanchions off during a ride here.
    I'd go with a 15 or 20mm through axle as well.
    Depending on what kind of adapter you use, you can run a 6 or 7 inch rotor. Most of us run a 6" (160mm) rotor on the back of our bikes, but some run 7".
    I personally prefer Avid brakes. The only exception to that, is the BB-5s.
    I've had problems with sticky pistons in Hayes brakes. That may be because of the dry dusty climate though.