Mountain Cyclist
    Oct 2007

Moho STS cable routing

Im new to the MC scene, just bought a slightly used 03 Moho STS mtb frame. I'm trying to figure out exactly how to mount the cables. The frame came with the guides, I'm just wondering if anyone can post some pics of how they're run (can't really find any good ones on google).

Thanks in advance!

mtbr member
    The front derailer cable is run down the bottom of the down tube. You run housing to the housing stop, then run bare cable the rest of the way. When you come to the aluminum tube, there should be a thin plastic tube inside that the cable runs through. There should be a plastic bare cable guide that screws the the under side of the botom bracket where the cable goes around it and up to the derailer.

The rear brake cable is run on the top of the top tube on the left side. You run the cable housing to the first stop. Bare cable to the second stop, then housing from the second stop to the rear brake. there is a housing guide in front of the seat post, just slip the cable housing into it.

The rear derailer is just like the rear brake, but you run it on the right side. But you will have an extra section of bare cable and housing. So it will be housing to the first stop, bare cable to the second stop, slip the housing in the guide in front of the seat post and run it past the seat post, down the seat stay, then bare cable to the next stop, then housing to the derailer.

There maybe a cable stop above the rear rim brake and just below the seat tube seat stay junction, right in the middle, next to the rear derailer stop. This won't be used it you are running a v-brake or a disc brake.

The best thing to do is find some housing adapters for the cable stops, so you can run full housing the whole way. They are little adapters that screw into the cable stops.

Here are some images I just took, I was going to post some pics here today anyway. I have mine setup as a single speed, so I can't show you all the routing.