mtbr member
    Aug 2008

Wrong size Ti Fly??? Please advise

Hello everyone - I'm new to Moto and now the proud owner of 2 new Moto's - The Fantom DS 16" and the Ti Fly "16" - I have a few questions as to sizing the Fly - I'm just under 5'8 with an inseam of 30" - and I have 2 road bikes - one is 52cm and the other is a 53cm, I got the Fly Ti 5 days ago and proceeded to assemble and stand in amazement at the shear beauty and value of this TI Fly. I installed Eggbeaters - bottle cages - set up the front fork etc. and today I took it our for its maiden ride - BUT - I had to adjust the seat post to the maximum extension - the ride felt comfortable - but I'm concerned about the seat post being at the maximum - should I get a longer post - my riding posiiton was great and I could spin and climb - but would I have been better off with the 18" size - which is 48cm - I thought that the rule of thumb was that your Mt. Bike should be 10-12 cm less that your road bike size - so having a 53cm road translates into a 43cm or 16" Mt. Bike size.

So - please - all you Moto lovers out there - help make me feel that I made the right sizing decision - but the way - the Fantom DS 16" did not need that much of a seat post adjustment - could it be that the standard seat post size on the 16" frame is spec to small?

Looking forward to hearing from all of you and I'm so happy to have found Bikesdirect.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by dkchips
    Looking forward to hearing from all of you and I'm so happy to have found Bikesdirect.
    At just under 5'8" you should have got the 18". It has 22.4" top tube, yours is an inch shorter.

Setback post and longer stem?

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    I've got a 30" inseam and always go for a 18" on MTB's.

mtbr member
    Oct 2007