Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    mtbr member
    May 2008

Well I got my 700ds in mail today

I am a newbie and it took me about good 1.5-2 hours to put the bike together with few accessories that i also bought and it did involve cutting the seatpost twice. Everything went fine, but unfortunately I cant get the gears to switch nicely and I did snap one or two lines in the cable to front derailleur (dont think its that bad). will probably bring the bike to the shop to adjust derailleurs. I also did not understand the front shock preload adjustment, and the rear shock spring MUST go. I did search a number of times for the correct size for replacement but was unsuccessful in finding any info.

Before i had a question is 700DS with Dart2 comes with TurnKey Lockout, and I am happy to see that it does.

MTBR Asian Dude
    May 2008
    Ain't it a sturdy bike? I'm sure you'll enjoy it (i know from experience )

So yah, i also figured out the little circular metal disk on the lockout switch is the poploc doohikie. I never really noticed it until now...

the preload adjustment info should be in the suspension owner's manual. Note that the dart 2 has lockout, preload adjusment, and at the bottom rebound adjustment. Quality suspensions.

Stupid for them to put a 850 lb spring there. I haven't replaced mine yet.

Did yours come with the WTB black andonized speed rims?
    Me:
    Honors Chemical Engineering undergraduate student at the University of Washington
    Bike:
    2008 Motobecane 700DS

mtbr member
    May 2008
    yes it came with WTB black rims

mtbr member
    Apr 2008