cPr
    mtbr member
    Mar 2012

Upgrading rear shock

I recently bought a bike off craigslist, most components were brand new just taken off other bikes.
    I have a team fantom team frame but it came with a KC382 coil in the rear, as well as a ario 2.2 for replacement/upgrade. After looking at the website it seems the frame geometry on the fantoms are the same and the rear shock can differ ( i am new to biking so could be completely wrong)

Can I upgrade the coil to the Rockshox Ario without messing with the geometry?
    I asked my Local bike shop and he said that since they dont carry motobecane that they will NOT change the rear shock for me. This a normal thing for bike shops?

Cliff : Can i change the kc382 to a Rockshox Ario 2.2 on a fantom team frame.

Hoping someone has the answer!

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    I can't help much with the geometry issue, but he said he won't change the rear shock even if you pay him?

cPr
    mtbr member
    Mar 2012
    Yup, i couldnt believe it....Thought it was a little strange but who knows..

AZ
    banned
    Quote Originally Posted by cPr View Post
    I recently bought a bike off craigslist, most components were brand new just taken off other bikes.
    I have a team fantom team frame but it came with a KC382 coil in the rear, as well as a ario 2.2 for replacement/upgrade. After looking at the website it seems the frame geometry on the fantoms are the same and the rear shock can differ ( i am new to biking so could be completely wrong)

Can I upgrade the coil to the Rockshox Ario without messing with the geometry?
    I asked my Local bike shop and he said that since they dont carry motobecane that they will NOT change the rear shock for me. This a normal thing for bike shops?

Cliff : Can i change the kc382 to a Rockshox Ario 2.2 on a fantom team frame.

Hoping someone has the answer!

The eye to eye measurement needs to be the same, hardware and bushings may also differ.

Axe
    Custom User Title