mtbr member
    Aug 2008

Tweaking my Fantom 29 Pro

I've been riding my Fanton 29 Pro for a couple of months now, and I think I almost have everything dialed in just right. Here are some of the changes I made.

400mm seatpost - the short one they ship with the 21" frame is well....too short.
    Seat - changed to a WTB Power V after bending the stock seat. I'm just too big (6'7". 260).
    Ghetto Tubeless - one thorn flat during just about every ride prompted me to get some Stan's and try ghetto tubeless. I couldn't be happier. No problems so far on the stock rims and tires.
    Chain - changed to a SRAM and kept the stock chain as a backup. I hope I never have to use it (it's not good)
    Grips - I added some Ergon grips with barends before a 3hr ride yesterday and they are well worth the money for me. No pain of sore palms at all after I adjusted the angle to the sweet spot.

I'm finally at the point where I like everything about the way the bike is riding. Sure, there are still some thing I could and might change, but I don't have any more of the little annoyances that cause me to spend most of the ride trying to figure out how to fix something.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Sorta the same here, 17":

Thudbuster LT
    Crankbrothers 50/50X
    Ergon GX-1
    Slimed tubes at 35/40 F/R

I probably need a longer stem. Talk to me about the chain, why is the stock one bad?
    What size SRAM and do they make one in gold that will fit?

I love the bike.

P

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    I'm not a chain guru, so I found out how bad the stock chain was by accident. I wanted a powerlink so I could take the chain off for cleaning, and I wanted a backup chain. I bought the SRAM 971 and put the whole thing on. The difference was night and day in terms of feel and smooth shifting.

Former Bike Wrench