mtbr member
    Jul 2013

Total noob! totally excited!

So first a little background: I used to ride a beat up early 90s gary that was too small for me, until it got stolen. I generally ride bike paths hard for exercise and just to be out of the house. Before my bike was stolen i was doing about 15-20 miles 3 times a week averaging 17-18 mph. Its been 5 years since Ive ridden, and ive revently got the itch. This morning i stumbled upon motobecanes, and being very suprised by the price points researched them all morning. Needless to say im the proud new owner of a 300ht. Im fully aware that this is an entry level bike, and i assume for the style of riding im preparing to do this bike will suit me just fine. But i have a few questions, and figured this would be a great place to ask.

Firstly, ive never assembled a bike before, however i am very mechanically inclined. I generally can fix anything that breaks around the house, so im thinking i should be able to handle this. Any tips/things i need to know? snafus to watch out for?

Secondly, i watched a review on youtube from a dude who was pretty hard core, and he made it sound like im going to need to true the wheels, adjust the spoke tension, and adjust the derailleurs. Can a total rookie do these things? or am i going to want to bring it in to the LBS.

Thirdly, the style of riding im planning on doing will not require any kind of suspension, in fact suspension will generally hinder me. I am not familair at all with forks/preload/suspension. Will i be able to "tighten" the [SIZE=2]SUNTOUR SF9-M2 + Preload so that it has no give at all? is this something the LBS can do for me? OR am i stuck buying a new fork that allows this?[/SIZE]

Lastly, is there anything i can do to contain my excitement for the next 3-4 days while the bicycle is being shipped????

I thank you for any info.

mtbr member