mtbr member
    Jun 2008

Are these KMC Z9000 chains really no GOOD?

Hi, I keep on reading here that the original chain that comes with the Fantom Pro 29er is no good. ( KMC Z9000 super narrow 9 speed ) is that true? Should i replace mine? Last night i went to the local bike store and i was told that its a decent chain but i still made the purchase of a SRAM PC-971. So my next question is this chain that i just purchased any good because now i've just read that its better to buy the SRAM PC-991? please Help I'm a ROOKIE!

Thanks Kenji

mtbr member
    Oct 2007
    I wouldn't get so worked up over chains if I were you. Just make sure you take care of it by properly cleaning and lubing it, and making sure you have no stiff links.

There isn't much difference between a 971 and a 991 chain, and you certainly would not notice it at all while riding.
    2012 On One Whippet 650b
    2012 Santa Cruz TRc 650b
    2014 On One Dirty Disco
    2010 Soma Groove
    1987 Haro RS1

banned
    Kenji also seems to think he's so important that he posts every one of his super important questions of the day in at least two to three forums.

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by ljsmith
    I wouldn't get so worked up over chains if I were you. Just make sure you take care of it by properly cleaning and lubing it, and making sure you have no stiff links.

There isn't much difference between a 971 and a 991 chain, and you certainly would not notice it at all while riding.

COOL~ THANK YOU VERY MUCH FOR YOUR HELP. KENJI

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    Hi,

For those that are curious of my finding here they are~ The KMC chain that came with my bike and with only 150 miles. After replacing it with a Sram 971 It made one hell of a difference. Now it's smoother while i'm pedaling and shifting. It also seems to have helped partially solve my excessive wear on my drive train.

Kenji

P.S. Thanks for eveyones help.

banned
    What excessive wear at 150miles?

mtbr member