mtbr member
    Apr 2012

Please help guys...which 29er is the best deal from BD for under a grand

Like the title says...I'm a newb and get thrown off by most of the details. I was looking through them all and I think this one is best... Windsor Cliff 29R PRO

Mountain Bikes - 29er MTB - Windsor Cliff 29 PRO

Thoughts?

Zero Miles from Myself
    The way I look at it ... get the most bike with the best fork you can afford form them. Things that are hard to upgrade (cost wise) are wheelsets, forks, maybe frames. If you get a lite frame / fork / wheel you can build on that.

I think probably anything with a Reba RL on it is a good bet. And it seemed to me the best bang for the buck is the Gravity 29.5. A bit over your budget, but would save you when you start to upgrade.

mtbr member
    Agreed. I was in your situation and stretched by budget to 1099 and brought home a Moto X9. As this was my first bike with any suspension, I was unwilling to compromise for a bike with anything less a fork than a Reba RL. Don't regret it, great bike!

Save up to 60% off new Mountain Bikes - MTB - Motobecane Fantom 29PRO

Zero Miles from Myself
    And Keep in mind ... if you settle for less than a Reba (and I use Reba as the example because it is basically the top offering from BD) ... if you settle for less than a Reba and want to upgrade to something lighter ... it is going to cost you $450+

The lighter fork makes for longer riding days with less upper body fatigue due to not having to lift that extra weight up and over obstacles IMO

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    that makes great sense. The reason I picked the Windsor because it was the cheapest with a Recon Fork. So basically thinking the same, except you guys are taking one step higher than I am. If I decide to go the Reba route...which is the best Reba 29er available....Gravity 29.5 or Moto X9?
    Last edited by Mountain916; 05-29-2012 at 08:26 PM.

mtbr member