Patapsco Peddler
    Aug 2011

Old Guy and a New Bike...

So I'm a long time stalker on here, but this will be my first post...I'm just a 37 year old dude that lives near the Avalon area of Patapsco in MD and just dropped a ton of money on a Moto Fantom DS 29er FS XTR bike!!! I'm waiting for it in the mail. This should be a huge upgrade compared to my 1996 GT Pantera Hardtail with a Mag 21 and STX-RC components that I've been rocking for the past 16 years...She's been a good bike, but it's now time to retire her. I'm guessing everyone in this forum would agree that I made a good choice for a $2,200 bike!!! It did take a bit of convincing with the wife to drop that much dough though. LOL

Patapsco Peddler
    Aug 2011
    Just got my new ride, and put it together. Took it out for a ride around the hood, and man are those 29" tires big. Can't wait to get it on the trails this weekend. I feel like I'm riding a monster truck!!!
    Pain heals. Chicks dig scares. Glory Lasts forever. - Shane Falco

My YouTube Video Page: https://www.youtube.com/user/skibum616/videos

mtbr member
    May 2013
    Hey thanks for posting, I'm also interested in purchasing that bike as my first FS.

But it looks like it is listed as $2300. Did you manage a special price on it? I think these did go on special late last year for about $2000.

How do you like the polished aluminum finish?

Patapsco Peddler
    Aug 2011
    I paid the $2,300...The finish is nice looking. They have heavy a clear coat of some kind over it making it look like paint. It's hard to tell if it is paint, or just clear coat. I have a 1996 GT Pantera as my other bike which is a polished aluminum finish (shiny), so this one compared to that is much less flashy, but still very nice. I'm pretty new to posting on these boards, but will try to upload a picture later. I will also let you know how it rides after I take it on some trails this weekend. From what I could tell so far, it's going to be pretty awesome.

mtbr member