mtbr member
    Jun 2014

Noob Bought Fantom29 Sport

Hey all,

I have a Fantom29 Sport being delivered Friday. I am having remorse perhaps over not trying the 529HT instead.

Any thoughts?

mtbr member
    Jun 2014
    Got the bike last Friday. Went together fine, but I could not get the FD adjusted correctly (it's a Suntour top pull?). Strangely, at BD on the 529 page they say it's extra cheap because the RD is not installed. Well it wasn't on the Fantom 29 either, but it adjusted just fine. I was worried about disc brakes as I have no experience with them, but got them set up just fine.

So far so good. Our latest batch of cars doesn't have trunk openings large enough for bikes, so I'm awaiting a bike rack before hitting any trails. But it's been nice around town.

mtbr member
    Oct 2012
    I wrote this up the other day, but Explorer decided to throw it away.

Rear derailures shouldn't be installed on bikes that are shipped. Every bike I've got off BD, had it removed. It's easy to take them off and put them back on without needing to adjust the cables. Taking them off helps prevent damage to the derailure and hanger during shipping.

With the front derailure, setup is important, and if the very first steps are off a bit (height), it just won't work. A lot of times, it's easiest to start from scratch.
    1. Assuming the chain is on and you're not going to remove it, put the chain on the largest front ring. Adjust the FD's "H" limit screw so you can no longer shift to the lower gears.
    2. loosen the FD mounting bracket and adjust the height till there is about 1-2 mm clearance between the large chainring and the FD. Tighten down the mount a bit and make sure the FD is lined up with the chainring. Tighten it down the rest of the way.