mtbr member
    Oct 2008

Motobecane Mountain Bike

Hello, I just joined recently and have been lurking around the forums to research information for a bike purchase. I have ran across this brand and happen to live in Houston where Cycle Spectrum carries these bikes. I have to say I was very impressed when taking the 700HT and Fantom Comp out for a test ride.

I'm new to this and the only kind of riding I will be doing is urban, Memorial Park trails, casual dirt trails, but not any competitive racing. I want to be able to pick a model that will suit me and not be too much bike for what I need. I don't mind spending a little more for better components so these bikes have been on my eye as well: Fly Team Pro, and Fantom Elite, and Pro Ti.

Can anyone give me some advice? Thank you in advance!

Space for rent...
    How tall/heavy are you? Do you ever see yourself pushing your limits, and perhaps getting into racing, riding more extreme trails down the road?

The reason I ask, it is not uncommon for a newbie buy a bike, like it, then find out quite quickly that they should have bought something different.
    It's only pain......

~Disc~Golf~
    ELITE!! - just in case you ever want to do some heavier trails later on. my $.02
    Honestly... ahh I give up

mtbr member
    Oct 2008
    I am 5'9" at 175lbs. I tend to get really into any hobby I start so I see myself definitely getting into more challenging trails, but not to the point where I would be racing. Like you said, I don't want to be purchasing a new bike 3-6 months down the road.

I can say that the Fantom Pro Ti is too much for what I need and what attracts me to that bike is a titanium bike at that price point ($1700). The Fly series may be too aggressive for me for everyday riding but I am not sure. I want to get it right before making the purchase this week. Thank you for responding

Gringo