mtbr member
    Oct 2014

Motobecane 529HT out of box experience

I have been lurking and read several posts on the 529HT or other Motobecane Bikes as I awaited my shipment from Bikesdirect (thanks for a lot of great info!). I will attempt primarily to comment on anything that supplements those posts.

Weight
    The first thing I noticed is that the box wasn’t light. When I had checked the UPS tracking info, the package was listed as 30lbs shipping weight. This sounded too good to be true, and it was. I guess they use 30lbs as a nominal weight for any and all bikes they ship and this value is not updated when UPS actually weighs for shipping cost.
    I weighed the box before opening it and it comes in at 44.6lbs (this includes the box, manuals, and any other shipping materials). After assembly, the bike (19” or large frame) tips the scales at 34.4lbs. This is about what I was expecting. After all, this is a $400 bike!

I am no bike mechanic, but have turned enough wrenches along the way to feel confident taking on anything a bike might require (with the help of youtube). I watched a couple of youtube videos on unpacking and assembling a bike.
    I was interested in how the 529HT would differ since bikesdirect asserts that this particular model is sold inexpensively because it is packaged to European spec (instead of their normal “90-95% assembled”).

European spec. packing differences (as compared to Youtube videos on unpacking/assembling mountain bike in USA):
    -The first obvious difference was the rear wheel was not mounted.
    -A cable about two feet long was loose in the box (no shroud). That is a bit disconcerting! I checked the derailleur cables and they were both in their shrouds and the brakes are hydraulic, so it was just trash.
    -Next thing different was the brake levers were not mounted - they were tie-wrapped to either leg of the fork.