mtbr member
    Aug 2008

Just ordered! - Motobecane Fantom 29PRO

After trying to find a good bike locally, I just took the plunge on a Motobecane Fantom 29PRO in Silver from bikesdirect. My big bro, who is an avid MTB'er has been looking out for me and recommended I go with the 29er. Says it will be a "smooth" ride on the trails.

I'm relatively new to the world of MTB and will be entering my first Adventure Race in the next month or so. Looking forward to breaking this bike in on some trails...or maybe I will be the one broken In any case, I'm excited to get the bike after reading the good reviews here on the forum.

Future owner of a Motobecane Fantom 29PRO...
    -yallrob

Former Bike Wrench
    Picture(s) are mandatory when you get it built up. If you (or your bro) are not well trained in bicycle mechanics...pay a respected LBS to build it up for you. You don't want any breakdowns during an adventure race!

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Will definitely post some pics once she arrives.

My bro is pretty well versed...he's riden in several 24 hour endurance races, biked Moab and the North Rim, etc. He and his wife have been mtb'ing for years. He has actually built several of his own frames then assembled from the ground up. He told me I had to 'earn' it before he would build one for me. I'm pretty confident he can get me up and running. He lives several hours away and I told him I would take it to a LBS to get setup and he said "No, I'll drive up and we'll put it together". Very cool - brother bonding time. Hopefully he'll bring his ride and we can hit the trails.

They both tried to get me hooked several years ago but I wasn't too interested back then. Somehow I now have the 'bug'. Maybe its the race coming up, maybe it's because I need to get in shape...but whatever it is I'm so looking forward to the rides.

Looks like the bike might ship in the next day or so. Hope to be on it Labor Day weekend!

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    You're going to like the bike

P