mtbr member
    Apr 2012

just ordered a moto from BD :P

Im kind of excited. After 3-4 weeks of research and going to my LBS 10-15 times haha, I finally ordered a new bike. After my surgery late last year (partial removal of intestines, im 29 with crohns) I started riding an old crappy department store bike my parents had in their garage. I had gained 40+ pounds from being on prednisone and wasnt happy as I was normally fit and 165lbs at 5"11. So the 10 year old bike has done its job, but is now falling apart. Pedals are cracking, shifting feels like im activating a jack hammer, and the cockpit is just completely wrong. oh its also a womens bike... I have managed to still have fun though, and thats all Im aiming for. I might do some single track after I move to florida in a few months but around here its mostly bike paths/gravel trails...

So I ordered a Motobecane 400ht. I was honestly going to order the cheaper 300ht but decided that the small difference in components and disc brakes would be a little smarter. That way when I start working again and can afford something nicer I will already be familiar with wrenching on my own bike, front suspensions, disc brakes etc. I know people will knock it for not being a fantom 29er or 700ht or whatever but im happy If my 10yr old dept store bike can put a smile on my face despite all its short falls then im sure this one will too! Ill add pics once its here next week!

NuB
    mtbr member
    May 2012
    Congratulations !!!! I just received my Gravity 29.4 yesterday. You will like the 400ht. As always, for the money, you can't beat it.

Newb
    Apr 2012
    Enjoy it. I love my fantom 29er!

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    For the money the 400ht will work well for you..Congrats!

mtbr member
    Aug 2006
    Congrats on the new bike and I hope your health improves. My best friend had the same problem and he also had the surgery. It's been about three years now and he's doing much better so far.

mtbr member
    Apr 2012