mtbr member
    May 2008

Just got my 600DS...

I'm pleasantly surprised with most about the new ride. The components really are the kind you'd find on a much higher price point bike from a shop. It really was well packaged and suffered no ill effects from its ride on the UPS truck (although the box was a little worse for the wear). I plan on doing some light trail riding and commuting the one mile to work each day. If you have any recommendations for an all purpose tire I would love to hear them. BTW, the matte slate is an awesome color, the pictures on bikesdirect.com do not do it justice, especially with the black rims and other black components. The welds were done very well, the "stacked coin" look that everyone says to look for was in full effect. Very tight.

I'm far from an expert, and this is my first foray into a dual suspension mountain bike. Like many have said, the rear spring is far too beefy, and I will need to replace it at some point. That's saying a lot as I am a pretty big guy, 6'1" 245 lbs (think linebacker more than big front porch...lol). Another out of the box disappointment was the seat post. Again, as I have read on other threads, it is far too long. I had to take it to the local shop and get about 4" cut off to be able to reach the pedals comfortably.

Also, I need a little help here guys. I've successfully assembled the bike with the brakes properly adjusted and the wheels rolling true. However, I have yet to get it to successfully change gears. It appears as if the cables have the proper tension. Still no changing gears. I may be missing something obvious....again, I'm far from expert and right on the cusp of novice when it comes to these things.

Help a brother out...please. I plan on posting some pics in the next couple of days.

Thanks all,

Casey - Central Arkansas

mtbr member
    Apr 2008