Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: I got $700....

NuB
    mtbr member
    May 2012

I got $700....

I am brand new to mountain biking. I will be riding through little technical trails, nothing crazy. Riding with my gf most of the time (she has a trek skye).

about me: Im 29 5'11 165lbs, I race motorcycles, well built and athletic (don't know if any of this helps.

I was about to purchase the 700HT after reading that it is a good bike for a beginner. My question is, would a couple extra hundred bucks be worth it to get a 29er ??

If so, that would lead me to the Fantom 29 X5 29er or the Fantom29 COMP. I really LOVE the x9......

Before all of this debate I figured i would buy the 700HT and use the rest of my saved money for a the motorcycle I want.

Any help would be appreciated.

Ti Fighter
    You can't go wrong with the 29'rs. I've had a single speed now for 3 years and the bigger wheels roll so much faster then the 26.

We just got the Fantom 29 Comp for my wife and it is a very good deal for the money. She loves it!
    09'Felt Nine Solo
    12' Motobecane FLY Team 29 Titanium

mtbr member
    Jul 2011
    Quote Originally Posted by Eruption View Post
    You can't go wrong with the 29'rs. I've had a single speed now for 3 years and the bigger wheels roll so much faster then the 26.

We just got the Fantom 29 Comp for my wife and it is a very good deal for the money. She loves it!
    It's good to hear the positive feedback on the Fantom 29 Comp.

It seemed like the perfect compromise for me, recognizing that I will *eventually* upgrade the fork, but right now I need to get back to riding and the price was right. I ordered it yesterday and I'll post my build experience and first impressions when it gets here!

mtbr member
    Gravity point 5 here...love it. Off 26, love the 29. Spend the extra dough!

mtbr member
    Apr 2012
    Just got my 1st mountain bike ever today... in the mail from BD. I got the 500$ 29er.