mtbr member

How to make my flyer 29 more mountain friendly...

I bought the moto ti flyer 29 XO last summer as I got back in to biking. The moto worked awesome on my usual XC trails I rode, but I started riding more and more technical trails and it seems the bike as it was built has some limitations.

I started looking at some FS bikes but frankly I don't have the dough to spent another 2-3K for a new bike, so I decided to wait. Meanwhile I am looking for ways to make the moto a bit downhill and rock friendly. The climbing and smooth parts are pure joy, but the rocky descents are scary.

So far the only changes from stock I made were raised handlebars, longer seat post and tubeless tires - the latter helped with the bumps a bit. I also put back my flat pedals on to make it easier to bail and made a bit more comfortable on the descents.

I am also looking for a shorter stem - 70mm with a slight raise - to reduce my OTB fear and I bought a koobi enduro PRS (half off !) seat to further cut down on the chatter...

Anything else anyone can suggest to make this XC a bit more of a trail/all mountain bike?

mtbr member
    Pump the terrain? Only half joking of course. I'm sure many will agree that your bike if just not the right tool for the job. One thing you could do is get an angleset or Workscomponents headset to slacken the head angle; will help in that OTB feeling you get when things get dicey. But beyond that you might just want to scour craigslist perhaps?
    Just keep pedaling, don't stop pedaling.

AZ
    banned
    Perhaps some higher volume tires.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by AZ.MTNS View Post
    Perhaps some higher volume tires.
    Yes, I was thinking that as well.

mtbr member
    I put a Ardent 2.4 on the front and a Nevgal 2.3 on the rear and it gave a nice increase in absorption.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by elcaro1101 View Post