mtbr member
    Jun 2008

first issue...BB

I was on a ride yesterday when I noticed that I had some play in my crank arms. Got home and looked closer and realized that it was the bottom bracket. I have no experience working on bottom backets. Can anyone guide me to a good article or describe what I'll have to do to fix this? Any special tools I'll need or anything? BTW, I have a Fantom Comp. This is what I signed up for when I decided that to shop at the LBS, and it''s good to know how to do this stuff anyway. Thanks.

mtbr member
    Feb 2008
    Try parktool.com Also sheldonbrown.com

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    which style to I have exactly? External Bearing?

mtbr member
    Feb 2008
    It's good that you want to learn & build bikes. I don't know your bike model , except i think bikesdirect.com sells your bike and they list the components. I have to go for now. Keep asking on the forum. Sometimes the number of responses you get are determined by the day or time of day etc. you ask.Keep on posting up till you get help. The guys can help you with your repairs and building.---zarr

mtbr member
    Oct 2007
    What exactly is loose, the crank arm or the bottom bracket? You have an integrated bottom bracket, so to tighten the cups in the frame you need the following tool.

http://www.performancebike.com/shop/...tegory_ID=4200

But it is not likely that the bearing cups are loose. It is more likely that your cranks are loose. In which case you just need an allen wrech to tighten them up.
    2012 On One Whippet 650b
    2012 Santa Cruz TRc 650b
    2014 On One Dirty Disco
    2010 Soma Groove
    1987 Haro RS1

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    I think its the bottom bracket, it looks like it's able to move around. I'll try tightening the crank arms, but the play is in both sides.

mtbr member
    Jun 2008