mtbr member
    Apr 2008

Does anyone actually own a Windsor Cliff 4500?

I've been looking at this bike for some time and was wondering if anyone had any experience with it.

I'm new to mountain biking (coming from a road bike) and I was also looking at the hardrock sport, and giant rincon. Comparatively, this bike has much better components than these other two (giant and spec both have RST or some other junk forks). I'm not too thrilled about the tektro disc brakes on the Windsor but it could be worse. I see the Windsor as a slight upgrade in components for a slightly cheaper price so why not.

Basically I just want something I can mess around with on trails when I need a break from the road bike. I'm not sure how involved I will get into it so the $350 price tag is most appealing (student). I volunteer at a bike co-op so I would be comfortable doing repairs on my own as opposed to paying for them at a LBS.

So does anyone own one and have any opinions? Or should I steer towards a Moto 4/5/600 ht? (Although as I move higher up in the BD line, I would feel that my money would be better off towards a rockhopper - which is why I want to keep it around 350-400.)

mtbr member
    I will have one here in the next few weeks. I do a lot of rigid 29er mountain biking and I would like to drag my wife out to some trails this year. She was in a car accident a number of years ago and as a result still has some neck issues. A soft fork is a must in her situation.

We dont want to dump a ton of money into a MTB for her yet as we dont know how much she would enjoy it- but I would like to find a cheap entry level MTB with an acceptable suspension fork for her to try out. Basically the cliff 4500 fits the bill for what we are in the market for.

If no one else chimes in I will let you know how the bike looks and feels when we get it.
    -Jeremy
    08 Redline D440
    Nashbar 'cross frankenbike
    11 Scott CR1

Motobey

ref windsor