• Trail DS

1 16.67%
  • Other...

3 50.00%

Thread: Dillema?

mtbr member
    Aug 2008

Dillema?

New to the forums here, and I have a question. I am trying to decide between two bikes.

The Fantom Comp Hardtail
    http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/...tom_comp08.htm

and the Fantom Trail DS
    http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/...trail_ds08.htm

Here's my question. I am not a small guy at 6'00" and about 245 or so. I can't decide between the two, but my question is, should I get the Comp because the components are that much better? Or should I get the DS so that I have a more capable Full suss bike that I can upgrade as my fat arse breaks parts?

They are both exactly within my budget, so there is no movement there.

Help please.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    I'm still new to suspension forks, but I'd be cautious about a Dart fork for your size. You can't do much about it if the springs allow too much travel (there are different springs, but I didn't find any that could handle ~250). With an air fork, you can adjust the pressure to fit your weight.

I choose a Fantom 29 Pro over the Fantom 29 for the same reasons, and I think it was the right decision.
    Last edited by fireflock; 08-25-2008 at 09:42 AM.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Yeah, that's kind of what I'm thinking too.

Former Bike Wrench
    Other

Some things to consider:
    -The heaviest springs Rock Shox make are good to about 220lbs (this should include your weight plus any pack you carry on your back).
    -If you go full suspension, you may need a rear spring (on the Trail DS)...I've never heard of a KS Axis shock...it might be tough to find a replacement spring
    -The RS Dart uses small 28mm upper legs, the Tora uses 32mm upper legs...the Tora is significantly stiffer which is good for your size.