mtbr member
    Jun 2008

Bonking ... not feelin' well Which Bike is the better DEAL???

Hi,
    I'm a rookie and I'm looking to get the best deal i can for the money. I just stumped over witch bike to get out of these three at bikesdirect.com all three are almost the same price. I'm 6 foot / 240 lbs. The type of riding that i'll be doing is cross country, city roads and jumping off-of city curbs. The first bike that i was considering is http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/...trail_ds08.htm
    The second bike is
    http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/...tom_comp08.htm
    And the third bike is
    http://www.bikesdirect.com/products/...om29pro_08.htm
    Again, I'm new to all this and i would really appreciate any ones help or opinion.

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    I am about the same size and height as you are. I have test rode a ton of bikes at the LHSs. Originally I really thought I want a full suspension bike. After trying them I decided that I really didn't want a FS due to how much squash you get out of the back end when you get out of the saddle and peddle hard. I also found that I really like the way that the 29s roll.

Just thought I would tell you what I have found. By the way I have decided on a 29er. I really wanted a Motobecane but they don't have any more in stock last I checked.

good luck on your search.

mpg
    mtbr member
    Feb 2008
    I have the Fantom 29 and I am very satisfied. I am also 6' and I believe you will like the 29er. I have been documenting my experience in a blog at http://motobecanefantom29.blogspot.com/

mtbr member
    May 2008
    I have the Fantom Pro 29er. I am about the same height, and weight as you. I do not have anything to compare it to, but it sure seems tough to get those 29" inch wheels spinning. It looks like it takes much less effort to pedal on the smaller bikes if you ask me. Again, I have nothing to compare it to. Perhaps someone can chime in?

mtbr member
    May 2008