mtbr member
    Aug 2008

Best fit for the Fly Team/Pro? Comfy for long rides?

Hey Guys,

I'm looking into getting the Fly Pro or Fly team but I am concerned about fitting. This is my first real bike as i've just been chugging the trails on a cheapo setup. I'm also new to biking so any help would be greatly appreciated! I'm 5'8" to 5'9" with an inside leg (from crotch to floor) of 32". For the most part i'm riding on bumpy pavement, dirt/rocks, but nothing too crazy (I see you guys writing about 5 foot drops). From bikes direct I'm at the end of the 16" and the beginning of the 18". If only they had a 17".

Can anyone who owns this bike please post height and frame size and whether or not it's comfortable?

Also as a general question, would this bike be comfortable for a 5 hr ride?

Thanks in advance everyone.

mtbr member

I'm 5 8

with a 31 inseam and am right on the edge of the fly 9357 16 frame size. I ended up putting a longer stem on the 16 bike in order to get the right upper body angle. My next fly frame will be an 18 in.

If you like an upright position, then a 16 might be all right. However, if you want the upper body at a 45 degree angle, then you probably want an 18.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    hmm I wouldn't mind a more upright position but I need to be able to get that speed when I hit the long straighaways, it sounds like an 18 with a shorter stem might work?

mtbr member

my 16 in fly

Quote Originally Posted by JwL2222
    hmm I wouldn't mind a more upright position but I need to be able to get that speed when I hit the long straighaways, it sounds like an 18 with a shorter stem might work?
    came with what i think was a 80 mm stem, so pretty short already. Another alternative is to put a lo riser bar on the 18 inch if you want a more upright position--probably be another $35 for an alloy bar.

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by stevemtu