mtbr member
    Feb 2013

BD Elite Adventure Vs. Elite Trail X4?

Hey guys,

Newbie here, looking to get a bike soon. I am looking at the Bikes direct Elite Adventure or the Elite Trail X4. I don't know enough about the components to determine if the Elite Adventure is worth the Extra $50 or not. Either one is doable, just not sure if I should save the $50 and go with the X4. If anyone could provide some insight, or some links to learn about the different componets it would be much appreciated.

I tried to post the links, but it wouldn't let me because of my post count

Thanks,

matt

Rogue Exterminator
    I really hate to say one is better for you than the other since nobody here really knows what type of riding you plan on doing or anything else about you.

Bike Direct is a good online dealer and online dealers do offer some great prices but I will suggest you look closer at your local bike shops first. Sure, you will pay a little more money but isn't having somebody help you select the right type of bike with the right components and the right fit worth something? Not to mention the value in the fact that they will put it together and tune it up before you ride it and then probably give you another free tune up after it is broken in.
    Just stick it in granny and start grinding.

mtbr member
    Feb 2013
    After I had posted I had realized that I didn't tell you my uses. I plan on commuting and then some weekend riding as well. Commute is about 8miles one way, half down dirt roads, half down roads.