mtbr member
    Jun 2008

Anyone with a" Moto pro 29er"

HI,

I'm very new to this so, Thanks for everyone's help.

I'm just about to place my order for the Motobecane Fantom Pro 29er. I'm just stuck on what size. I've tried measuring my self and it's 31.25inch's allowing one inch from my boys. Now, I went down to the LBS. and tried a Kona Kula 29er in a 20inch frame,"By the way. I fell in love with that bike but it was to pricey". And so that bike show's it's 32.9inch in a 20inch frame. That bike felt comfortable to me and the sales guy at the LBS. said that bike was a good size for me. I dont know if he was just trying to make a sale because at first he said that it was a little big for me and that bike was the last bike in a size that that would be for my height. So now i don't know which one to order the Fantom PRO 29er in a 17inch=31.7 or the 19inch=32.8. I'm like right in the middle?

Thank's Again, Kenji

mtbr member
    I just purchased the same bike and the 17" frame fits me (31.5" inseam) well. If you're used to a larger frame, the extra height from a 26" to a 29" wheel should be considered. A lot of this is simply personal preference as many off-roaders go down a size in frame. Frame geometry is in play here as well.

Be advised that bikesdirect.com only has the Fantom Pro 29 available in 17" or smaller at this time. Larger frames are prepay and won't ship until 8/15. I wanted to ride immediately, so that made the frame size decision easy.

Good luck w/ your new ride

mtbr member
    Jun 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by BamaRlz
    I just purchased the same bike and the 17" frame fits me (31.5" inseam) well. If you're used to a larger frame, the extra height from a 26" to a 29" wheel should be considered. A lot of this is simply personal preference as many off-roaders go down a size in frame. Frame geometry is in play here as well.