mtbr member
    May 2013

300HT vs 450HT vs Dawes Haymaker 1k

I'm a total noob just starting to look at bikes. I want something inexpensive I can tool around town and on dirt trails with. I am handy and technically inclined so assembling and tuning are no problem.

I'm looking at the Bikes Direct bikes. The 300HT seems like a great value. The 450HT is about $50 more but includes disc brakes. It's really tough for me to tell what the difference is in the other components. Are the disc brakes, and other possible upgrades, worth the extra $50? What about the 400HT, which is for some reason $10 more than the 450HT? I do see the 400 and 300 use Shimano derailleurs while the 4350 uses SRAM.

And how does the Dawes Haymaker 1000 compare to those 3 bikes?

Here are links to all of them:

Mountain Bikes - MTB - Motobecane 400HT
    Save up to 60% off Mountain Bikes - MTB - Motobecane 400HT
    Save up to 60% off Mountain Bikes - MTB - Motobecane 450HT
    Save up to 60% off new Mountain Bikes - MTB - Dawes Haymaker 1000

mtbr member
    May 2013

Cool-blue Rhythm

Also, a question on sizing. I'm about 5'8.5 and my inseam is 31". The Motobecane specs say that the standover height on the 18" frame is 30.6", which seems awfully high for an 18" frame and would be too high for me. Does that mean I should get the 16" frame with a standover of 29.2, or might that be too small?

16" sounds awfully small to me. The SO on the 16" Motobecane is 0.2" higher than on the 17" Dawes.

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    I think you would be ok with an 18" frame. I used to have 17" Motobecane 600HT, and I'm an inch shorter than you, and the fit was excellent. Don't worry about standover too much - it really doesn't matter when you are riding in most trail situations. The 16" would be too small for you.

The brakes pretty much suck on the 400HT and 450HT models. The V-brakes found on the 300HT are actually better, but you will have better shifting on the 400HT and 450HT.