mtbr member
    Oct 2009

New to Mountain Biking

Hi Folks,

I'm new to mountain biking and just got my first mountian bike. I was wondering what you more knowledgable riders could tell me about my ride. I'm a commuter style of cyclist and was looking for another bike when this one just happened to pop up.

Its a Mongoose Tetra SX that was headed to the "great bike graveyard" and I don't know anything about them. I'm not sure when this bike was made its an unfinished aluminum frame, seven sprockets on the back wheel. The gears seem to have up and down paddles as well as the front derailers. This bike seems to be as light as a feather.

I took it into my local bike store and they seem impressed with it. Needs a tune, wheels trued and brake adjustment. I'm also adding fenders for when the weather gets bad.

From the bit of lurking I did before opening my account I didn't see anything on this particular model. So here's my questions:

1) How do I determine the year my bike was built, its a Mongoose Tetra SX unfinished aluminum frame?

2) Once I determine when my bike was built, what sort of components did the Mongoose Tetra SX come with? How do you determine if the components on the bike should be upgraded?

3) Is the Mongoose Tetra SX a good starter bike or is it a more advanced model? This is the last bike I'm ever going to need. Does Mongoose's have a good reputation and longivity? I've never heard of them before. Again from some lurking I'm assuming they are a specialty bike not a mass manufactured bike, am I wrong?

4) I plan on using it for daily commuting and doing some exploring around my city. Good choice or should I have considered another model or type of bike?

5) What sort of maintenance does a bike like this need/should have? I'm used to the old CCM and store bought bikes. The ones we drove into the ground. This appears to be a much better bike so I want to take care of it and enjoy it.