mtbr member
    Jan 2013

Mongoose at mass market outlet for about $400.

Piece of crap or worth four hundred bucks, which I consider really cheap for a bike?

It has rear suspension. For $400

I'm half serious about the idea of buying one as a sort of "disposable" bike to use in some routine day to day training sessions on some very local trails in my neighborhood. Would avoid some of the wear and tear on the fantasy bike I want to buy myself in the spring, which is going to be one of the high-end Specialized models. If I trashed the cheap one, or it wore out fast, I would be OK with it. Some of these local trails are really rough and steep, so there is the possibility of trashing a bike, and I'd rather trash a $400 bike than a $10,000 bike until I'm more confident of my mtb skills, since I'm not very experienced with mtb at this time, although I do a lot of street/paved trail riding.

mtbr member
    Get on Craigslist and spend you $400 on a used Mtn bike. I would not get the Mongoose. Brakes can/will break, shocks will pogo and bike weighs a ton.

Mark
    2012 XXL Carve Expert

mtbr member
    Nov 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by MotownDanny View Post
    Piece of crap or worth four hundred bucks, which I consider really cheap for a bike?

It has rear suspension. For $400