mtbr member
    Oct 2009

New question here. Help with possible purchase

Hey,

I'm new to all of this and wanted to see if this bike would be worth getting. I know it's a Mongoose, but I don't know the model or anything but I will post the info the owner has emailed to me and a link to the ad. He won't go lower than 200.

I'm just trying to see if I like riding and will use it mostly for commuting/light trail w/ my son (any advice on a kids bike?) and I can't choke down 300 for something I might get rid of sooner than later.

Thanks!

Mongoose Full Suspension Bike
    It has the new Shimano trigger style shifter/brake combo set on it, along with Sram grips, new Shimano rear derailleur, new cable set, new rear wheel, tires are in great shape, aftermarket handle bars. I have raced it and it does very well at Binder Park.

it fits me perfect - im 5'10" as well - i rode it a lot thats why i had to put a new wheel on the rear - and being a full suspension it will def be more comfortable for commuting.

mtbr member
    Jul 2004

My best guess...

I am NOT a Mongoose expert... but, from the pics to me...

It looks like it might be an XR-75. Can be purchased new for less if it is. http://www.walmart.com/catalog/produ...uct_id=4698937
    I was gonna stop by and see you, but the Jehovas witnesses came by. When they left I started drinking. Voicemail from Paul

ChiliPepper1
    $200.....not worth it. You can get this new for the same or less. You can get a Specialized Hardrock or RockHopper for $150 more. Anyways, good luck!

mtbr member
    Oct 2009
    I think you are right and it looks like the wal-mart bike. I think I'll go ahead and pass on this one.

Chili-
    Can you tell me where I might be able to find a Hardrock for that price? I know the LBS has a Trek 820 for 350. But like I said, I really don't know if I want to spend that much when I might not stay with it. I'm cheap when I can be. I like bargins and value.

ChiliPepper1
    Quote Originally Posted by nismofun