mtbr member
    Jul 2010

Which headset for a Khyber 2008?

Hi all,

As you can tell I'm new to mtbing with a question like this, but I am wondering if it is worth replacing the bearings or getting a better headset with sealed cartridge bearings? Any Khyber owners out there that have changed their headsets?

I have searched the forum for any threads dealing with headset replacement but have been unable to find any information that is specific to the Khyber. From the research I have done I am thinking the new headset will be a cane creek one but I am unsure about all the different types of headsets available, ie traditional, zero stack, integrated or tapered. The bike currently has an FSA orbit E.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

What?
    Your bike takes a tapered headsed. cane creek would be a good choice to upgrade to.

mtbr member
    Jul 2010
    Thanks for the reply mullen119,

I had a look at my head and it looks to be the same size at the top and at the bottom and the forks dont appear to be tapered either. I had a look at the cane creek site and from what I read would the XXc flush II fit? The reason I say this is on the mongoose site it states that the original headset is a 1.5" to 1 1/8" conversion which is what I understand the XXc flush II to be.

What?
    The XXc flush II fit is made to adapt a 1.5 head tube to fit a 1 1/8 fork. The head tube on the kyber is a tapered, So I would think you would have a tapered fork as well.

Here is a link to the specs on your bike. Its where I got the info that your head tube is tapered.
    http://www.bikepedia.com/QuickBike/B...lite&Type=bike

mtbr member
    Jul 2010