mtbr member
    Jun 2016

Ideal new bike for John Muir system

Hi;
    I am a relative beginner to mountain biking and do about 80% of my riding on the John Muir/Emma Carlin system. I love it. I am ready to upgrade from a Scott Aspect entry level bike with 26" tires.

Would you consider this trail system cross-country or trail? I would like to be able to ride over the rocks a little better but I am not a big jumper. I know that both a hard tail or FS bike will work on these trails, but what about XC vs. a trail bike? at 5' 9" I am sold on getting a bike with 27.5" tires.

The bikes I am looking at are Santa Cruz Superlight D (FS), Santa Cruz Chameleon hardtail, Trek XC X-Caliber 9, and maybe the Kona Precept 130 FS. What is your perfect under $2K bike for these trails?

What about it for John Muir? Is an FS bike over kill? Should I go XC or trail bike? I am also 47 years old and wondering if its best to just get and FS bike for that reason.

Thanks much!

mtbr member
    Jun 2015
    I just rode there yesterday with my Superfly Singlespeed (which is what I would imagine the perfect trail for this bike). Personally, I had a ton of fun with my rigid singlespeed there, but also think that it would be equally as enjoyable on an XC bike like the Procaliber or the Top Fuel. Right now there is a crazy deal on the Top Fuel 9 before the come out with new models next month. As for tire size, you can do your research, but I suggest riding both and seeing what works for you. Trek uses what they call "Smart Wheel Size" where their 15.5" frames come with 27.5 and everything above that is 29 (for some models...). I would say that if you are looking for something that rolls over rocks better, then go with a 29er...

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Welcome!