Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member

Good job! Two Rivers Bike Park - My Two Cents

MAP: Two Rivers Bike Park, Highlandville, MO (Click for Map)

Located in Highlandville, MO near Nixa and Ozark. 20 minutes South of Springfield.

Location Keywords: Branson, Joplin, Nixa, Ozark, SW Missouri, Springfield

VIDEO: Two Rivers Overview from Opening Day

I started riding in Colorado back in '98. I am definitely a Colorado trail spoiled brat. Moved to the Springfield area 3 years ago and was pretty disappointed with the riding here (Sac River mainly). I mean it was nice to have something to ride...but on the scale of comparison to what I was used to in and around Colorado Springs it was pretty mundane riding.

I've been to Two Rivers Bike Park three times in the last two weeks. I could not be more pleased, and it's a combination of things, not just the trails. This park is truly an absolute paradigm shift in MTB culture for the entire region. 90% of the credit goes to a few individuals that crafted the vision and threw all in with planning, "cheer leading" volunteerism, time, blood, sweat and tears.

Right at the trail head there is a great beginner skills area where you can try out skinnies (ladder bridges), teeters, drops, rocks, berms, etc. There is a "hang out zone" on the other side of the entrance. Picture a big tin sided barn that's been reworked with a covered porch, benches, huge fans to keep a nice cooling breeze running through the place...not to mention a very well stocked bike wrenching zone. Bike stands, tools, etc. The hang out zone even has WiFi...how nuts is that?

There is a short beginner's Slope Style course and a Downhill Run with plans for a much more technical and much longer Downhill Run for the future (I even heard talk of gap jumps, not table tops as on the current DH run. The current single track is top notch, armored where needed for erosion control, sweet bench cut throughout most of the trails.