mtbr member
    Jun 2012

New Bike for Royalview, Regan, etc.

Hello all,

I'm a road cyclist looking to take advantage of the trails around me. The opening of Royalview has encouraged me to get a MTB and take to the trail.

I have some questions that I hope someone could answer for me. I've been checking out various bikes at LBS's and have landed on getting a 29er hardtail. I was considering a full suspension as well, but was told by multiple people that around here you would never really need a full sus. Is that true?

Also, having not ridden the trails, I'm going off what I'm told. But I was told that for Regan and Royalview a Cross country bike will be great. And that bike will be able to do most of the other trails in the area (Wilds, West Branch, Vultures Knob.) Another store told me that because it was a 29er that I would not be able to take it to places like Vultures Knob because of the drops and jumps.

As a beginner I don't want to do drops and jumps, but I can tell I will at some point. Is it true a 29er hardtail can't handle those? Couldn't it be upgraded to handle the abuse?

Lastly, I've narrowed it down to three bikes. I can't post links because of my post count but:

-Giant XTC 2 $1,400
    -Diamondback Overdrive XC (or Comp depending on where it's purchased) ~$1,000
    -Diamondback Overdrive $600

The XTC is over my budget and partwise it seems like the frame is the only "upgrade" over the diamondbacks.

I am heavily leaning towards a Diamondback but am confused if I should go for the base model and upgrade parts as they break or spend the extra 400 for a better fork and brakes upfront on the XC.

Also, I was told suntour forks are worthless and can not be repaired. This is what is pushing me towards the XC/Comp too.

Sorry for the wall of text, but any help would be GREATLY appreciated.

THANKS!

Suckin wind like a boss